Research Symposium

Inaugural Australian Community for Advanced Organic Semiconductors (AUCAOS) Symposium

Peppers Salt Resort & Spa, Kingscliff, New South Wales, Australia.

Arrival (resort check-in): Sunday 3rd December
Symposium: Monday 4th December – Wednesday 6th December 2017

Keynote speakers:
Professor Chihaya Adachi (Kyushu University)
Dr Scott Watkins (

The symposium will bring together the AUCAOS members and will be an exciting forum for discussing the latest developments in computation/theory, the chemistry of new materials including, processing, film morphology, and spectroscopy, as well as device physics, and device fabrication / manufacturing / testing.

Abstract Template – click here to download.
Please email your completed abstract to r[dot]kembery[at]uq[dot]edu[dot]au.
Abstracts will then be reviewed and notification of acceptance will be sent by the 14th July.

Places are limited, so you are advised to register as soon as possible in order to avoid disappointment. The registration link remains active, but it is likely to close early October 2017, however please note that it could be removed earlier if we were to reach capacity in the interim.

The registration cost of $200 includes morning & afternoon tea and an evening meal on the Monday and Tuesday, as well as morning tea & lunch on the Wednesday. Please note that the registration payment is required to confirm attendance and is non-refundable.

Register now

Accommodation: Peppers Salt Resort & Spa are offering a special conference rate of $159/night for bed and breakfast for single occupancy. To access this special rate, please click here to download the booking form. The resort also has other accommodation options that you can discuss with them separately if required.

Symposium Sponsors





Scientists from Flinders University and ANSTO Join Hands to Investigate Nanoscale Interactions in Polymer Solar cells

AUCAOS member Prof. Mats Andersson’s group has recently demonstrated that poly(4-vinylpyridine) (P4VP) can be used as an alcohol-processable interface layer in high-performing polymer solar cells. Prof. Andersson, Dr Anirudh Sharma and ANSTO scientist Dr Andrew Nelson will investigate the interactions between the interface layer and the fullerene in the bulk heterojunction layer of PSCs. The project was recently granted beam time on the PLATYPUS and X-ray reflectometer, with a total grant value of $AUD 51075

Joint effort by Macquarie University and ANSTO to reveal interaction of organic materials in solution

AUCAOS member Nikos Kopidakis and ANSTO scientist Liliana de Campo are beginning to investigate the interaction of polymers and fullerenes in solution. The goal is to understand how the chemical structure of the molecules leads to superstructures in solution that are precursors to the structure of solid organic semiconductor films. The project was recently granted beam time in the newly commissioned Small-angle Neutron Scattering instrument BILBY.

Joint UQ-India research harnesses light for the future

AUCAOS members Dr Ebinazar Namdas, Dr Shih-Chun Lo, and Professor Paul Burn of the Centre of Organic Photonics & Electronics, The University of Queensland and Assoc Prof Chris McNeill (Monash University) will be collaborating on a project entitled “Large Area Opto-Electronics (LAOE) for Australia and India”. The program is being funded under the Australia-India Strategic Research Fund (AISRF) scheme. The Indian partner is CSIR-National Institute for Interdisciplinary Science and Technology (NIIST). The Australian and Indian Governments are each contributing $1 million in funding.

Potential outcomes from this research include reduced consumer electricity costs, the development of next-generation photo sensors for digital cameras and new lighting technology.

For more information, please see the following links:

New Single-Molecule Diode For Miniature Electrical Circuits

A research team from Curtin University that includes AUCAOS member Dr Nadim Darwish has made a diode from a single molecule that could pave the way for smaller electronic devices. For more information on this exciting discovery, please see the following links:

AUCAOS member Dr Paul Shaw joins CSIRO Scientists in Schools program

Dr Paul Shaw recently joined the CSIRO Scientists in Schools program. The program appealed to him as it allowed him to enter a partnership with a local school with a view towards making a lasting difference to STEM education.

While a large proportion of students show a general appreciation for science they do not necessarily relate this to their own lives or consider being a scientist. Paul has been working with Year 3 so far teaching them about light absorption and heat transfer!

Inaugural AUCAOS Meeting

The inaugural meeting of AUCAOS took place at Macquarie University, New South Wales on Monday 13th March 2017.

Attendees in person: Prof Paul Burn (University of Queensland), Assoc Prof Chris McNeill (Monash University), Dr David Huang (University of Adelaide), Dr Andrew Nelson (ANSTO), Dr Tamim Darwish (ANSTO) and Dr Nikos Kopidakis (Macquarie University). Via video link: Dr Ebinazar Namdas (University of Queensland), Dr Shih-Chun Lo (University of Queensland), Dr Ron White (James Cook University) & Alan Mark (University of Queensland).