AUCAOS symposium 2017

Around 70 delegates from around Australia and NZ attended the inaugral AUCAOS symposium at Kingscliff.

The talks covered a wide range of topics – from theory and computation to devices and everything in between, with applications from organic light-emitting diodes to solar cells and single molecule devices.

The symposium had two excellent Keynote talks from Scott Watkins and Justin Hodgkiss as well as a vibrant poster session on the Monday evening.

The relaxed setting enabled discussions between delegates and opportunity to build new research partnerships.

The success of the program was built on the generous support of our sponsors (Australian Centre for Advanced Photovoltaics (ACAP), SCITEK Australia Pty Ltd, John Morris Group, AINSE, 1 Material, Ossila and NPJ Flexible Electronics) and we thank them again for their kind contribution.

The 2018 symposium is planned for early December and will be in South Australia – keep an eye out for details in the New Year.

AUCAOS Members in ARENA Grant Success

Assoc. Prof. Chris McNeill (Monash University), Prof. Mats Anderson (Flinders University) and Dr Nikos Kopidakis (Macquarie University) have been awarded $840,000 from the Australian Renewable Energy Agency (ARENA) to develop efficient and stable all-polymer solar cells. The project – which is led out of Monash University – will accelerate the development of new materials through rapid screening of new polymers with time-resolved microwave conductivity. A particular focus will be placed on materials that are not only stable, but also scalable, with all cells to be prepared using printing processes to enable rapid upscaling to roll-to-roll processing.

For further information please visit

AUCAOS member wins Young Tall Poppy Science Award

Dr. Nadim Darwish has been recognised as one of Western Australia’s best young scientists at the State ceremony of the prestigious Young Tall Poppy Science Awards. The awards are run by the Australian Institute of Policy and Science (AIPS) to honour up-and-coming scientists who combine world-class research with a passionate commitment to communicating science.

Scientists from Flinders University and ANSTO Join Hands to Investigate Nanoscale Interactions in Polymer Solar cells

AUCAOS member Prof. Mats Andersson’s group has recently demonstrated that poly(4-vinylpyridine) (P4VP) can be used as an alcohol-processable interface layer in high-performing polymer solar cells. Prof. Andersson, Dr Anirudh Sharma and ANSTO scientist Dr Andrew Nelson will investigate the interactions between the interface layer and the fullerene in the bulk heterojunction layer of PSCs. The project was recently granted beam time on the PLATYPUS and X-ray reflectometer, with a total grant value of $AUD 51075

Joint effort by Macquarie University and ANSTO to reveal interaction of organic materials in solution

AUCAOS member Nikos Kopidakis and ANSTO scientist Liliana de Campo are beginning to investigate the interaction of polymers and fullerenes in solution. The goal is to understand how the chemical structure of the molecules leads to superstructures in solution that are precursors to the structure of solid organic semiconductor films. The project was recently granted beam time in the newly commissioned Small-angle Neutron Scattering instrument BILBY.

Joint UQ-India research harnesses light for the future

AUCAOS members Dr Ebinazar Namdas and Dr Shih-Chun Lo of The University of Queensland and Assoc Prof Chris McNeill (Monash University) will be collaborating on a project entitled “Large Area Opto-Electronics (LAOE) for Australia and India”. The program is being funded under the Australia-India Strategic Research Fund (AISRF) scheme. The Indian partner is CSIR-National Institute for Interdisciplinary Science and Technology (NIIST). The Australian and Indian Governments are each contributing $1 million in funding.

Potential outcomes from this research include reduced consumer electricity costs, the development of next-generation photo sensors for digital cameras and new lighting technology.

For more information, please see the following links:

New Single-Molecule Diode For Miniature Electrical Circuits

A research team from Curtin University that includes AUCAOS member Dr Nadim Darwish has made a diode from a single molecule that could pave the way for smaller electronic devices. For more information on this exciting discovery, please see the following links:

AUCAOS member Dr Paul Shaw joins CSIRO Scientists in Schools program

Dr Paul Shaw recently joined the CSIRO Scientists in Schools program. The program appealed to him as it allowed him to enter a partnership with a local school with a view towards making a lasting difference to STEM education.

While a large proportion of students show a general appreciation for science they do not necessarily relate this to their own lives or consider being a scientist. Paul has been working with Year 3 so far teaching them about light absorption and heat transfer!

Inaugural AUCAOS Meeting

The inaugural meeting of AUCAOS took place at Macquarie University, New South Wales on Monday 13th March 2017.

Attendees in person: Prof Paul Burn (University of Queensland), Assoc Prof Chris McNeill (Monash University), Dr David Huang (University of Adelaide), Dr Andrew Nelson (ANSTO), Dr Tamim Darwish (ANSTO) and Dr Nikos Kopidakis (Macquarie University). Via video link: Dr Ebinazar Namdas (University of Queensland), Dr Shih-Chun Lo (University of Queensland), Dr Ron White (James Cook University) & Alan Mark (University of Queensland).

Research Symposium 2017

Inaugural Australasian Community for Advanced Organic Semiconductors (AUCAOS) Symposium

Peppers Salt Resort & Spa, Kingscliff, New South Wales, Australia.

Arrival (resort check-in): Sunday 3rd December
Symposium: Monday 4th December – Wednesday 6th December 2017

Keynote speakers:
Associate Professor Justin Hodgkiss (Victoria University of Wellington, New Zealand)
Dr Scott Watkins (

Download the program

The symposium will bring together the AUCAOS members and will be an exciting forum for discussing the latest developments in computation/theory, the chemistry of new materials including, processing, film morphology, and spectroscopy, as well as device physics, and device fabrication / manufacturing / testing.

Important Travel (Time Zone) Information:
During the dates of the conference, Kingscliff (located in New South Wales) will be in Australian Eastern Daylight Time (AEDT).
Both Brisbane Airport and Gold Coast Airport operate on Australian Eastern Standard Time (AEST).
Please bear this in mind when planning your travel.

Guidelines for Presenters:
Oral Presentations: A widescreen projector will be used. Please allow 5 minutes at the end of your presentation for questions and discussion.
Poster Presentations: Posters should be A0, portrait.

Peppers Salt Resort & Spa are offering special conference rates, however please note that the standard hotel rooms (single and twin) are now fully booked. Please click here to download the booking form.

Symposium Sponsors