Professor Paul Burn Wins Global Award

Professor Paul Burn, ARC Laureate Fellow and Head of the Centre for Organic Photonics & Electronics, School of Chemistry and Molecular Biosciences at The University of Queensland has been awarded a prestigious Helmholtz International Fellowship.
The Helmholtz International Fellowships are awarded to scientists “who have excelled in extraordinary ways in research fields that are central to the work of the Helmholtz Association”. They aim to build research collaboration and the Fellows “also act as ambassadors between the institutions and the Helmholtz Association”.
The Fellowship provides support for the collaboration between Professor Burn and Dr Alexander Colsmann at the Light Technology Institute, Karlsruhe Institute of Technology.

For further information see:

AUCAOS Expands

The AUCAOS committee is delighted to announce the community’s name change to the Australasian Community for Advanced Organic Semiconductors, with the aim to include colleagues from neighbouring countries from the region. The community also has a new logo to reflect the expansion, which can be up-dated as new members join.

AUCAOS symposium 2017

Around 70 delegates from around Australia and NZ attended the inaugral AUCAOS symposium at Kingscliff.

The talks covered a wide range of topics – from theory and computation to devices and everything in between, with applications from organic light-emitting diodes to solar cells and single molecule devices.

The symposium had two excellent Keynote talks from Scott Watkins and Justin Hodgkiss as well as a vibrant poster session on the Monday evening.

The relaxed setting enabled discussions between delegates and opportunity to build new research partnerships.

The success of the program was built on the generous support of our sponsors (Australian Centre for Advanced Photovoltaics (ACAP), SCITEK Australia Pty Ltd, John Morris Group, AINSE, 1 Material, Ossila and NPJ Flexible Electronics) and we thank them again for their kind contribution.

The 2018 symposium is planned for early December and will be in South Australia – keep an eye out for details in the New Year.

AUCAOS Members in ARENA Grant Success

Assoc. Prof. Chris McNeill (Monash University), Prof. Mats Anderson (Flinders University) and Dr Nikos Kopidakis (Macquarie University) have been awarded $840,000 from the Australian Renewable Energy Agency (ARENA) to develop efficient and stable all-polymer solar cells. The project – which is led out of Monash University – will accelerate the development of new materials through rapid screening of new polymers with time-resolved microwave conductivity. A particular focus will be placed on materials that are not only stable, but also scalable, with all cells to be prepared using printing processes to enable rapid upscaling to roll-to-roll processing.

For further information please visit

AUCAOS member wins Young Tall Poppy Science Award

Dr. Nadim Darwish has been recognised as one of Western Australia’s best young scientists at the State ceremony of the prestigious Young Tall Poppy Science Awards. The awards are run by the Australian Institute of Policy and Science (AIPS) to honour up-and-coming scientists who combine world-class research with a passionate commitment to communicating science.

Scientists from Flinders University and ANSTO Join Hands to Investigate Nanoscale Interactions in Polymer Solar cells

AUCAOS member Prof. Mats Andersson’s group has recently demonstrated that poly(4-vinylpyridine) (P4VP) can be used as an alcohol-processable interface layer in high-performing polymer solar cells. Prof. Andersson, Dr Anirudh Sharma and ANSTO scientist Dr Andrew Nelson will investigate the interactions between the interface layer and the fullerene in the bulk heterojunction layer of PSCs. The project was recently granted beam time on the PLATYPUS and X-ray reflectometer, with a total grant value of $AUD 51075

Joint effort by Macquarie University and ANSTO to reveal interaction of organic materials in solution

AUCAOS member Nikos Kopidakis and ANSTO scientist Liliana de Campo are beginning to investigate the interaction of polymers and fullerenes in solution. The goal is to understand how the chemical structure of the molecules leads to superstructures in solution that are precursors to the structure of solid organic semiconductor films. The project was recently granted beam time in the newly commissioned Small-angle Neutron Scattering instrument BILBY.

Joint UQ-India research harnesses light for the future

AUCAOS members Dr Ebinazar Namdas and Dr Shih-Chun Lo of The University of Queensland and Assoc Prof Chris McNeill (Monash University) will be collaborating on a project entitled “Large Area Opto-Electronics (LAOE) for Australia and India”. The program is being funded under the Australia-India Strategic Research Fund (AISRF) scheme. The Indian partner is CSIR-National Institute for Interdisciplinary Science and Technology (NIIST). The Australian and Indian Governments are each contributing $1 million in funding.

Potential outcomes from this research include reduced consumer electricity costs, the development of next-generation photo sensors for digital cameras and new lighting technology.

For more information, please see the following links:

New Single-Molecule Diode For Miniature Electrical Circuits

A research team from Curtin University that includes AUCAOS member Dr Nadim Darwish has made a diode from a single molecule that could pave the way for smaller electronic devices. For more information on this exciting discovery, please see the following links:

AUCAOS member Dr Paul Shaw joins CSIRO Scientists in Schools program

Dr Paul Shaw recently joined the CSIRO Scientists in Schools program. The program appealed to him as it allowed him to enter a partnership with a local school with a view towards making a lasting difference to STEM education.

While a large proportion of students show a general appreciation for science they do not necessarily relate this to their own lives or consider being a scientist. Paul has been working with Year 3 so far teaching them about light absorption and heat transfer!